PLEASE COMMENT: Leadership – What Does It Mean To You?

10

September 6, 2015 by Mike Lyles

I’m working on a presentation about leading the next generation.  And I want to get your inputs for this presentation.

Think of a leader that you have known in your life.  This leader can be a boss, someone at your school, someone you know, a president, a great speaker, someone from history…. basically anyone that you have witnessed as a great leader.

Now, think of what made them a great leader.  What were the 1-2 things that they did that stood out to you that made them great?  How did they interact with their followers?  How did they tell their stories and talk to the people?

I have just one request – please share your thoughts as comments to this blog.  I’d like to take your input and build it into my presentation as inputs from the community.

Thanks in advance for your inputs and comments!

10 thoughts on “PLEASE COMMENT: Leadership – What Does It Mean To You?

  1. Carl Shaulis says:

    Great leaders take a chance on people with high potential, then they inspire those people through honest feedback loops and let them do great things.

  2. Andy Chatman says:

    Mike, the first person that came to my mind is a guy by the name of Willie Wines Jr. He’s a captain with the City of Roanoke Fire and EMS, not only is Willie a great leader, he’s just a good down to earth guy that leads by example. In the 3 or 4 years I’ve known him I’ve gained a lot of knowledge from him.

  3. Jeremy Brown says:

    My definition of a great leader is defined not only by what they do, but also what they DON’T do.

    A great leader is well versed in the inner workings of the department they oversee and can jump in and help when needed. They lead by example and aren’t afraid to thin the herd when there are non-performers hindering progress.

    They DON’T spend their days in an office with the door closed, shuffling papers, studying endless reports which take 100 pages to say nothing, and provide no feedback to their direct reports on what is and isn’t working. They don’t build walls hindering an open, honest line of communication which would benefit everyone from the CEO to the new guy who started yesterday.

    Now, back to my goofiness. Expect a middle finger reference in any future posts.

    As you were.

  4. yagsyjah says:

    A great leader is one who encourages,a former boss who continues today encouraging me to shine. He showed great patience with me all the while encouraging me to offer idea.listened to me and showed me that I was a valuable contributor. Years later, he continues to show me encouragement and gives me wonderful respect for the hard work I’ve done to learn new things. I’ve reached beyond his level because I went in a different direction and showed me the greatest respect by asking ME advice. Wow, I was so honored and I still look to him for advice and his example. That is what a great leader is for me.

  5. Hope says:

    My current boss is an example of a great leader. She is competent in her knowledge and abilities so she feels secure and is not threatened by her team members. She loves developing her team members and always gives us credit for our contributions. She is not above any task and knows how to be a leader and a team player. I have worked in environments where leaders “earned their position” and then delegated all of the work. My boss does not do that. She doesn’t expect us to do anything she wouldn’t do. She inspires us, but also holds us accountable and sets high expectations. She also regularly writes thank you notes and gives acknowledgement to people. In our one on one meetings, we always have to recognize someone and then she sends them a note. It creates a culture of teamwork, reward and recognition.

    -Hope

  6. kadalorakuruvi says:

    We can be successful leaders only if we are disciplined followers, who do not issue commands to others but rather set an example of service in our actions.
    – Sathya sai baba (My Spiritual Guru)

  7. A great leader that I look up to is Julian Harty, one of the greatest soul in it’s true sense. Am sure if he reads this he thinks I am over doing it – that humble a person he is. He encourages and sets an example just by his presence. I always love to work or be anywhere near that he is there. Nothing defines leadership like he does by his mere presence. His work towards education, technology and the combination of both are what inspires me. He honestly shares his feedback and guidance when asked for. I like what JeanAnn Jarrison and Kadalorakuruvi have written above to add to this exercise.

  8. sanphen says:

    From my past I have had and been both good and bad leaders.
    Often bad managers think that because they are a manager they are a leader. But a good leader, often doesn’t think they are a manager or a leader.
    The best leaders I have worked with and followed were not trying to be a leader, but just good at their job and a good person.
    A leader inspires you to follow. That can be with words of wisdom or can be by their actions. But the lead has to have value to you, either in what you do or what you want to be.

    A bad leader requires you to follow, or demands when they don’t have respect or value.

    Remembering the value parameter, a good leader is not necessarily a leader to all. As value to one person holds no value to another. e.g. A religious leader inspires their followers and guides them, but followers of another religion may find the leader to be wrong and even evil. (extreme example).

    Everyone has to evaluate others leadership for themselves, and a good leader does not have to have a world follow them, or anyone, just be who they are, and who they are should inspire someone to improve. Not by force but by the followers own wish.

  9. mahekmithare says:

    One who comes down to the level of his subjects and walks WITH them not ahead of them.

  10. Tracy Boff says:

    A great leader is one who does not focus on being a leader. They have a vision they are passionate about and they share their vision with others. Becoming a leader is a result of finding others who share in your vision too.

Leave a Reply

