Stand Out in the Crowd

10

January 12, 2013 by Mike Lyles

20130112-101446.jpg

Whether you are an introvert or an extrovert, I feel everyone wants to be appreciated and remembered for something.

I spent this morning realizing that we have an endless web of resources at our fingertips, thanks to the internet, for improving ourselves, learning how to be a better leader, coworker, employee, family member, or friend. And most importantly, I have accepted the fact that I will never be able to read everything I would like before my time on the Earth is over.

But that should never stop us from trying. Today is the day that you can get started – find an interesting article, and then build on it. The thing I realized today was that if you find a great article or posting, there is almost another one sitting right there on the same site for you to go even further into this ‘web of knowledge’. And what I find is that one site will give me multiple other sites to go, and in turn, those sites will provide links to other sites, and soon you will find yourself in the middle of dozens and dozens of interesting readings that will help you to improve in your own personal life.

First of all, I want to be part of that web. When folks start digging deep into great articles and things that change their lives – whether short term or long term – I want to be remembered as one of their stops along the way to self improvement. And I won’t stop until I do just that!

So for today, I wanted to share with you a great article I just read on Inc.com from Jeff Haden below:

10 Things Extraordinary People Say Every Day

To summarize the 10 things that extraordinary people say – they are:
1. Here’s what i’m thinking
2. I was wrong
3. That was awesome
4. You’re welcome
5. Can you help me
6. I’m sorry
7. Can you show me?
8. Let me give you a hand
9. I love you
10. Nothing. (there are times this is the best thing to say….nothing!)

What you will find from this site is that Jeff, as well as others, have so many other links with similar topics.

Start today improving yourself — even if you only have a few minutes per day – everything you do every day is taking you one step closer to being a better you!

Enjoy the journey.

10 thoughts on “Stand Out in the Crowd

  1. Ena Rastogi says:

    Vvery nice and interesting!!!!

  2. Those are all powerful statements/questions!

  3. Lori Sloop says:

    Very good Mikeeeee! Thanks for sharing…. I really wish I could be better at #10! I think I have the other points pretty much covered. Keep up the good work! 🙂

  4. […] Stand Out in the Crowd Written by: Mike Lyles […]

  5. missjessedeol says:

    Great, I love this!!

    Excellent points summing up everything…I need to get back into blogging!

    Looking forward to reading more of your amazing blog 🙂

    ~Join Me~ http://missjessedeol.wordpress.com/
    ~Like Me~ https://www.facebook.com/MissCaliBayArea
    ~Follow Me~ @missbayareacali
    ~InstaGram~ missjessedeol
    ~Watch Me~ http://www.youtube.com/user/MissBayAreaJesseDeol

  6. Swathi says:

    Mike, these are really good and represent two sides of the coin which i have it.

Leave a Reply

