How Did The 80’s Affect You? (please comment!!!)

KeepCalm80sIn the 1980’s, the world was introduced to so many new things: CDs, MTV, Sony walkman, Pac-Man, VCRs, PCs, the Apple Mac, and by 1989, Tim Berners-Lee was getting started on a new invention he called the “World Wide Web”.

With that said, I NEED YOUR HELP!!!! 

I want your inputs on all the things that stand out when you think about your memories of life in the 80’s.  I need your memories to be things that people remember (e.g. Alf, Pac Man, cassettes, Back to the Future, Rubik’s cubes, hair-bands, Swatch watches, etc).

I will give you some help as you reminisce:

  • What was your favorite song from the 80’s?
  • What was your favorite musical group?
  • What are your favorite electronic ‘gadget’?
  • What games did you like?
  • What was your favorite movie?
  • What is your favorite quote (either from movie, song, or book) from the 80’s?
  • What 80’s song/movie/title/quote most accurately describes your day to day life at work?

I’m pulling this information together to support an article and presentation I am doing this year.  Please comment below and let me know what you remember the most!!

Thank you in advance for sharing your thoughts with me!!!

About Mike Lyles

I am an International Speaker, writer, blogger, and Sr. QA Architect with over 21 yrs of IT experience. I have always had an intense passion to mentor, coach, and guide others to grow professionally. It is fulfilling to witness the look on people’s faces when you are able to share with them something that is enlightening. I want to be remembered for the way I made others feel when they were around me! I can be followed at the following additional social networks – Please feel free to add me! Connections are our best way to help others! Twitter: @mikelyles ……. follow me and I’ll follow you! Facebook: www.facebook.com/mikelyles ……. send a friend request! LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/mikewlyles ……. send a connection request! Learn more about me at: http://about.me/mikelyles

Posted on February 19, 2014, in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. 80s hair metal bands – Bon Jovi, Def Leppard, Mötley Crüe

    Commodore Amiga, waiting and waiting for games to load and hoping the load actually worked

    Breakfast Club and Top Gun

    Bueller? Bueller? Bueller?

    The Hand of God handball by Maradonna and Wimbledon FC being The Crazy Gang ( English soccer moments)

  2. What was your favorite song from the 80′s?
    Sunday Bloody Sunday – U2 – 1983
    Warsaw then Atmosphere – Joy Division close 2nd and 3rd – 1988
    What was your favorite musical group?
    U2 – Last good album: The Joshua Tree (1987) everything after, crap…
    What are your favorite electronic ‘gadget’?
    Matel Classic Football: http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41S43M5FHYL.jpg
    What games did you like?
    Fedal, D&D
    What was your favorite movie?
    Terminator (1) hands down.
    What is your favorite quote (either from movie, song, or book) from the 80′s?
    Can’t decide my favorite:
    “Life moves pretty fast. You don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” – Ferris Bueller
    “No more yanky my wanky. The donger need food.” – Long Duk Dong – 16 Candles
    What 80′s song/movie/title/quote most accurately describes your day to day life at work?
    “I’ll be back” Aarnold – Terminator

  3. I don’t remember, I was too young. ;P

  4. I had no electronic gadgets.
    Terminator was my movie.
    I can’t remember any particular song, but Whitesnake stands out as my 80’s band.
    No movies for me, I just didn’t have the time.
    For me is about falling in love, that’s what happen to me in the 80’s.

  5. Favorite song: Rush – Limelight and Def Leppard – Photograph
    Favorite Band: Rush – Permanant Waves, Moving Pictures, Signals, Grace Under Pressure, Power Windows, Hold Your Fire and Presto. All awesome albums.
    Favorite Electronic Gadget: Walkman, couldn’t afford it but thought it was cool.
    Games: Arcade version of TRON and Dragon Quest
    Favorite Movie: Star Trek – Wrath of Khan
    Favorite Quote: KHAAAANNNNNN!!!!!!
    Most describes my day to day life at work: Show Don’t Tell (Rush)

    Yeah, bit of a Rush fan.

  6. Dawn Hemric Osborne

    I want your inputs on all the things that stand out when you think about your memories of life in the 80′s. I need your memories to be things that people remember (e.g. Alf, Pac Man, cassettes, Back to the Future, Rubik’s cubes, hair-bands, Swatch watches, etc).
    Some of my favorite memories of the 80’s are Cabbage Patch Dolls, Jelly Shoes High School (football games, basketball games, dances, etc) hanging out with and cruising with my friends, going to Myrtle Beach with my friends especially going to the Magic Attic and Pavilion at Myrtle Beach.
    My favorite “Hair Bands” of the 80’s were SugarCreek/The Creek, Firehouse, Poison, Motley Crue, Twisted Sister, Ratt, Quiet Riot, Def Leppard, Whitesnake (to name a few).
    Some of my favorite songs from the 80’s were: Girls just want to have fun, You’re the one that I want, Turn up the Radio, I love Rock-n-Roll, Word Up, Whip it, Puttin on the Ritz, 1999, Pump up the Jam, Technetronic, Dirty Laundry, Mickey, Devil went down to Georgia, anything by Alabama, Elvira by the Oak Ridge Boys,

    • What was some of your favorite songs from the 80′s?
    • Girls just want to have fun, You’re the one that I want, Turn up the Radio, I love Rock-n-Roll, Word Up, Whip it, Puttin on the Ritz, 1999, Pump up the Jam, Technetronic, Dirty Laundry, Mickey, Devil went down to Georgia, anything by Alabama, Elvira by the Oak Ridge Boys, Hit me with your best shot, Rocky Top. (I could go on and on) today all I listen to still is 80’s music!

    • What was your favorite musical group?
    • SugarCreek/The Creek & New Kids on the Block

    • What are your favorite electronic ‘gadget’?
    • Intelevision (our first video game system), Color TV

    • What games did you like?
    • Clue, Monopoly, Hungry Hippos, Connect Four, Twister, Go Fish, Old Maid

    • What was your favorite movie?
    • Grease, West Side Story, North & South

    • What is your favorite quote (either from movie, song, or book) from the 80′s?
    • Mrs. Dobbins: “Can’t never could do nothing”, ET phone home, Bueller? Bueller?

    • What 80′s song/movie/title/quote most accurately describes your day to day life at work?
    • Quiet Riot: Mental Health/Bang your Head

  7. Cory & Arricka

    MUSIC
    Duran Duran
    The Outfield
    Skid Row (18 and Life)
    Guns N’ Roses (Paradise City)

    GAMES
    Walkmans
    Frogger
    Galaga

    MOVIES
    Chariots of Fire
    Back to the Future
    Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back
    Star Wars: Return of the Jedi

    QUOTES
    Ronald Reagan quotes, “Trust, but verify.” and “Government’s first duty is to protect the people, not run their lives.”

    BOOKS
    A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving
    Salman Rushdie in the news

    MISC
    The Challenger Shuttle disaster
    “valley girl” grammar (“like”, “whatever”, “way”, “as if!”, “totally”)
    Carl Lewis, Mary Lou Retton and the 1984 Olympics
    short gym shorts, shoulder pads, and stirrup pants

  8. It means so much to me to see so many comments from everyone! I really appreciate each and every one of you so much for your inputs! Tell your friends….I’m wrapping up my data in a few days…..

  9. I have fond memories of grabbing issues of Compute! and typing in pages and pages of code into edlin on my 4MHz 8088 (with a whopping 30MB hard drive).

  10. Hey Mike,

    -Favorite songs
    Funkytown
    Jessie’s Girl
    Africa
    Take On Me
    With or Without U
    & “_____” by Michael Jackson

    -Favorite musical groups
    U2
    Run DMC
    Public Enemy
    Journey

    -Favorite electronic ‘gadgets’
    Walkman
    Nintendo System, Power Glove, Gun, Gameboy
    Speak & Spell

    -Games
    Tetris
    Duck Hunt
    Mario Bros

    -Favorite movies
    Karate Kid
    Earth Girls are Easy
    Robocop
    Transformers
    Back to the Future
    Ferris Bueller
    Roger Rabbit
    and of course the Goonies

    -What 80′s song/movie/title/quote most accurately describes your day to day life at work
    Muppet Babies and Oregon Trail

Leave a Reply

Martial Tester

A blog for a guy that 'fell' into software testing and hasn't found a way to climb out... It's good or bad depending on the happenings of the day.

Madhavi's Blog

Sharing with the world

Benjamin Yaroch's Blog

Striving to be a better tester

A Developer's Best Friend

Developer and Tester Unite. Be great! But... build it like you got it wrong. You will soon think of a better way to build it, so prepare for that now

James Christie's Blog

thoughts of a software testing consultant from Scotland

Curiousity killed the cat

- but I'm still here!

Hello Test World

Aaron, Brian, David, Oliver and Richard on the art of testing

Testing Via Blogs (TVB)

Tester don't use will rather they use can.

Testing hermeneutics

hermeneutics and software testing and some other ideas

testerahead

My blog is what I feel for different things in life

Knowledge Tester

The Software Tester equipped with Knowledge

The Testers Edge

My experiences, observations, and thoughts on Software Testing

Philip Lew

Software Quality, Cycling, Adventure, Food, and Life!

Prashant Chambakara

SEO Executive & Web Spam Engineer

SQA Knowledge

Software Testing and Quality Assurance

Ministry of Testing

Co-creating Smarter Testers

+1 Testing

...re-configuring for current context...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

